Topics Map > Services > Computing Equipment, Software and Support > Software

Zoom - Security

Below are tips on how to keep your Zoom meetings secure.

Brief Video Tutorials:


Scheduling a Meeting


The following security features are available in your “Schedule a Meeting” window in your Zoom account.
  • Enable waiting room: This feature allows you to see all participants in a waiting area before permitting them into the meeting.
  • Meeting Password: This provides an additional layer of security, requiring your participants to have access to your meeting link as well as the numerical password.
  • Require Authentication to Join: Selecting this setting will assure that only participants who are signed into a Zoom account will be able to join your meeting.
  • Mute participants upon entry: Selecting this feature ensures that no participant joining the meeting will be able to unmute their microphone unless you as the host provide that permission 
  • Participant Video: Turning the participant video off will ensure that participants are unable to use their camera in the connection and potentially distract other participants
  • Allow participants to join anytime: This feature should be unchecked as it would allow anybody with your meeting link to start your meeting without your participation.

While In a Meeting


The following security features are available in your running Zoom call.
  • Mute participants: You can select to mute all participants as they enter the meeting, mute all participants, or mute individual participants - more info
  • Lock your meeting: This will prevent any new participants from joining your meeting - more info
  • Enable waiting room: You can enable and disable your waiting room while in your meeting - more info
  • Stop participants' video: This will turn off the video feed from all participants - more info
  • Remove participants: This will remove any selected participants from your meeting - more info
  • Disable screen sharing: This will remove the ability for participants to share their screen in your Zoom connection - more info
  • Hide profile pictures: This will hide the profile pictures of all participants in your meeting - more info
  • Disable chat: You can turn the chat off for all participants, o adjust who they can contact via chat - more info
  • Remove ability to change name: This will prohibit participants from changing their profile name once in the meeting - more info
  • Suspend All Activities: This feature will immediate stop all audio, video, screen sharing and locks your meeting. This is the quickest way to recover your meeting after a Zoombombing - more info
Zoom Security Button

Zoombombing

Zoombombing is a term used to mean an uninvited person who acts as a troll in a public Zoom meeting (or any virtual forum). That person may take over the meeting and share inappropriate content with attendees. This does not seem to be an issue with smaller, private meetings, but could be more likely with a public forum, especially if meeting details are shared publicly on a website or social media. 

Zoom has updated our licenses to default to having only the host allowed to share a screen. The host can change this setting if screen-sharing with other attendees is needed. There are some things you can do to prevent unwanted participation in your meetings: 
  • Allow only the host to share a screen
  • Use the Waiting Room/Lobby to allow the moderator to let people in 
  • Do not share the meeting number on any social media 
  • Use a password for the meetings

Related links: 

See Also:




Keywords:zoom, software, remote learning, video conference, secure, video, call, remote   Doc ID:101785
Owner:Sharley K.Group:IT Knowledge Base
Created:2020-05-07 09:45 CDTUpdated:2021-07-09 10:24 CDT
Sites:IT Knowledge Base
Feedback:  0   0