Topics Map > Services > Accounts, Access, and ID Card > Identity and Access Management

Identity and Access Management - Get Started

Notice: If you are looking for resources on HyFlex teaching, please visit our Teach HyFlex Page

NDSU Access Management is used by faculty and staff to set up and manage others' access to the services they own, including NDSU File Services (S: and X: drives), Active Directory groups for shared computer access and websites in NDSU's TYPO3 Web content management system (CMS).

For the services you own, you can use the system to: 

  • Add or remove access to a shared folder in NDSU File Services 
  • Review and confirm access to a shared folder in NDSU File Services 
  • Add or remove members to an Active Directory group for shared computer access 
  • Review membership lists for an Active Directory group 
  • Review, add and/or remove authoring and publishing access to sites in TYPO3 CMS (detailed instructions are available in the CMS Knowledge Base)

Launch Access Management

Get Started

Manage membership to NDSU File Services (S: and X: drives), AD Groups and TYPO3 CMS sites 

Review and Confirm Membership

  1. Go to the Access Management System 
  2. Log in using your NDSU electronic ID and password 
  3. Click Manage Services from the left menu 
  4. Click the group you wish to review 
  5. Review the list of Active Users to see who has access to the group 
  6. If the list of members is correct, click the I attest that access is correct link under the Confirm the list is correct section. If the list is not correct, complete the steps below to add or remove members until the list is correct 
  7. Once clicked, the Most recent attestation field will update with the date and time, which updates instantly after clicking the I attest that access is correct link 
This process should be completed at least once annually or when requested by IT Security.

Add Members

  1. Go to the Access Management System 
  2. Log in using your NDSU electronic ID and password 
  3. Click Manage Services from the left menu 
  4. Click the group you wish to add a member to 
  5. Enter the user's NDSU electronic ID or EMPLID in the Find a user to add field 
  6. Click Search 
  7. Review the account details of the user you are adding to verify it is the correct account 
  8. Enter a justification for adding the user to the group in the Justification field 
  9. Click Grant 

Remove Members

  1. Go to the Access Management System
  2. Log in using your NDSU electronic ID and password 
  3. Click Manage Services from the left menu 
  4. Click the group you wish to remove a member from 
  5. Find the user you wish to remove in the list of Active Users 
  6. Click the Remove link 
  7. Review the account details of the user you are removing to verify it is the correct account 
  8. Enter a justification for removing the user from the group in the Justification field 
  9. Click Remove 

Frequently Asked Questions 

Who may use the service? 
NDSU staff and faculty who have been designated as the Service Manager may use this service. 

Will an email notification be sent to users who have been granted access to a shared folder, group or site? 
No. The Service Manager who grants the access will need to notify the user once access has been granted. It may take up to 10 minutes for the self-service change to finish processing before the new user can access the folder. 

Will shared folders auto-map to computers once access has been granted? 
No. The new user will need to take action to access the shared folder for the first time: 
  • If the computer is managed by ITS Desktop Support, log off or restart the computer and then log back in for the folder to auto-map. 
  • If the computer is not managed by ITS Desktop Support, follow the instructions on how to map a shared drive that are provided on the NDSU File Services page. 
How do I create a new shared folder or group? 
Contact the IT Help Desk to request a new shared folder or group. 

How do I request a new website in TYPO3? 
You can request a new site by completing the Request Site form, which is under the CMS Administration menu in the Identity and Access Management system. 

Do I need to confirm group membership every time there is a change in membership? 
No. Though you can confirm membership each time there is a change, it is not required and will do no harm.




Keywords:manage, access management, manage services, manage   Doc ID:97000
Owner:Michael R.Group:IT Knowledge Base
Created:2020-01-09 13:15 CDTUpdated:2020-08-24 14:37 CDT
Sites:IT Knowledge Base
Feedback:  0   0