Advanced Networks

Below are the various networks that NDSU partners with for research and education.


Internet2 is a not-for-profit advanced networking consortium comprised of more than 200 U.S. universities in cooperation with over 45 leading corporations, 60 government agencies, laboratories and other institutions of higher learning, over 30 regional and state research and education networks and more than 100 national research and education networking organizations representing over 50 countries. 

Internet2 works to support members as they meet the challenges of cyberinfrastructure that are increasingly central to innovation in research and education. 

The broader Internet2 community comprises international networking organizations representing more than 50 countries, and state and educational networks connecting more than 50,000 institutions across the United States. Internet2 works to support members as they meet the challenges of cyberinfrastructure that are increasingly central to innovation in research and education. 

North Dakota's Internet2 Membership

North Dakota's State Network is STAGEnet, providing connectivity for our primary and sponsored participants. STAGEnetis the state network for government and education in North Dakota. 

In addition, several organizations and education groups are sponsored by NDSU and UND under their Internet2 membership agreements: 

Sponsored Education Group Participants (SEGP) 

Sponsored Participants 

Northern Tier Network Consortium 

This regional network initiative provides a robust research network connection for educational institutions in the upper-northwestern states by creating a national backbone route across the northern U.S. - the Northern Tier. NDSU serves as administrative and fiscal agent for the Northern Tier Network-North Dakota segment. 

The Northern Tier Networking Consortium seeks to develop and sustain advanced networking capabilities in order to support the educational, research, and economic vitality of the Northern Tier region. 

Membership currently includes higher education institutions, research centers and other regional networks from the states of Alaska, Idaho, Iowa, Michigan, Minnesota, Montana, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota, Washington, Wisconsin and Wyoming. 

The annual membership fee for the Consortium is $1200. Inquiries may be directed to members of the NTNC Executive committee


The North Dakota Statewide Technology Access for Government and Education network (STAGEnet) was created by the 1999 legislative session. STAGEnet provides broadband connectivity, Internet access, video conferencing and other networking services. All state agencies, colleges and universities, local government, and K-12 are required to participate in STAGEnet. 

STAGEnet is governed as a partnership between government and education. The governance structure consists of three committees. The Executive, Management and Technical committees include representatives from state and local government, K-12, colleges and universities, interactive video network, and voice communication. These committees aid in planning, prioritizing, approving standards and policies, making service level decisions, coordinating among constituencies, communicating, and identifying and providing resources. 

The ultimate decision making authority regarding STAGEnet is the lawful responsibility of the North Dakota State CIO as stated in the North Dakota Century Code Chapter 54-59-02.

United State Unified Community Anchor Network 

The mission of the U.S. UCAN project is to provide community anchor institutions including public safety organizations, public libraries, K-12 schools, community colleges, research parks, and health care organizations with advanced broadband capabilities and services.