NDSU Blackboard Manager is used by instructors to activate a course each semester. It can also be used to copy content from a past semester, merge multiple sections of a course into one course, and view last date of student activity.
Note: New Blackboard course shells are created each semester - instructors will NOT see these new courses in their course lists in Blackboard until after they have used Blackboard Manager to activate their courses each semester.
Activate Courses in Blackboard
Courses do not appear in your Blackboard course lists until they have been activated using Blackboard Manager (Bb Manager) each semester. Instructors listed as the instructor of record for a course in Campus Connection must use Bb Manager to activate courses. Courses activated using Bb Manager are processed almost instantly. Courses are initially set to be unavailable to students to allow instructors to make changes before students access them.
Merging Multiple Sections in Blackboard
When multiple sections are combine in Blackboard a Master/Child course(s) is created to allow instructors to use the same content for multiple sections in one place so there's no need to maintain multiple sections! The Child course keeps track of students in each section and feeds the roster to the Master course.
Instructors do not use the Child courses for any purpose in Blackboard. Students see only the content contained in the Master course, but see the course title as it is listed in Campus Connection. All students enrolled in the course see the same content, assignments, tests, due dates, and have the same points possible.
View Date of Last Activity
Student enrollments are automatically added to Blackboard courses each semester. When a student drops a course in Campus Connection, they are automatically hidden from the course in Blackboard. Instructors should not delete them from the course or change the student's status to "Unavailable in Blackboard."
Once the drop is processed through Campus Connection, the Blackboard course is no longer visible to the student, and instructors no longer see that student in the Grade Center. All grade history and student work is preserved, but it is not visible in the Grade Center. Students are not removed from the course so instructors cannot add them back into the Blackboard course.
To determine the date of last attendance for Financial Aid verification, instructors can use the Course Grades link in Blackboard Manager to view the students' grades.